Painted Doors

painted doors(This post is re-post from 2014 and just prior to revamping our preschool playroom into an early childhood large group space for the Bible Story and Worship portions of our ministry hour.)

We are swamped at church right now as we plan, dream, pray and prepare for a new ministry model AND summer program. There is a lot to be done…

As I was in the garage tonight, painting a second coat of primary colors on closet doors for our new set, I felt myself becoming bitter. I hate painting. It’s messy, and time consuming and it hurts my back. And, I don’t have time for this. My to-do list is growing by the minute. I’m working hard to make sure this is done well… and no one is ever even going to know I was the one who worked so hard to make these doors look nice!

As soon as that last thought crossed my mind, the one about people knowing my contribution to this part of the new program, I heard that small still voice say, “So, this is about you? For your glory?” 

Yikes – I immediately insisted the enemy get behind me and began to pray. As I prayed I was reminded that if I wasn’t the one painting the doors, someone else would. And if I didn’t show up tomorrow, someone else would lead our team. God doesn’t need me. He does, however, love me enough to let me participate in HIS good works, and painted doors. And none of this is or should be for my glory. Painting these doors – it’s for HIS glory.

My thinking absolutely did a 180 in that moment.

Painting doors for God’s glory. HOW COOL IS THAT?! That I could GLORIFY God by painting doors? Shut up. That’s ridiculously AWESOME! And that He would allow someone like me to do something like that for Him. Choked me up a little bit.

I LOVE PAINTING DOORS!!! What an honor.

As each of you continue to chip away at your to-do lists in front of you, remember those doors and thank God for the opportunities, big and small, to do anything and everything for God’s glory.

“Therefore, whether you eat or drink ((or paint doors)), or whatever you do, do everything for God’s glory.” 

1 Corinthians 10:31

 

Leave a Reply

